Three-Time NCAA Champion Kyle Snyder Named America’s Top Amateur Athlete

Three-Time NCAA Champion Kyle Snyder Named America’s Top Amateur Athlete

NEW YORK (April 17, 2018) - In his second consecutive year as a finalist for the AAU James E. Sullivan Award, Ohio State Buckeyes All-American, Kyle Snyder, was crowned America’s top amateur athlete during a ceremony at the New York Athletic Club.
“It feels great to win the James E. Sullivan Award this year,” said Kyle Snyder, 2018 AAU James E. Sullivan Award winner. “This award represents and symbolizes consistent effort, hard work and a willingness to do more than the normal and average person, and humbling yourself to chase improvement.”
An AAU Sullivan Award finalist last year, Snyder earned his third consecutive NCAA heavyweight championship for the Buckeyes. He earned U.S. Male Athlete of the Year and Ohio State Male Athlete of the Year honors and was named an NCAA All-American. Snyder is the Ivan Yarygin gold medalist (97kg) and his 2017 World Championship match was dubbed “Match of the Century,” as his win gave USA Wrestling its first team title in 22 years.
Snyder is the fourth wrestler to take home the award and first since Rulon Gardner in 2000. He topped Olympic bronze medalists Maia and Alex Shibutani (figure skating); NCAA champions Kelly Hunter (women’s volleyball), Annika Albrecht (women’s volleyball), Erin Finn (track and field) and Joel Berry II (men’s basketball); and U.S. Equestrian paralympian Annie Peavy (equestrian) for the honor.
“The AAU aims to provide a venue for amateur athletes to promote good sportsmanship and good citizenship for America’s youth,” said Dr. Roger J. Goudy, President/CEO of the AAU. “The way Kyle carries himself on and off the mat is an inspiration to youth athletes around the world and he is everything we could want as a winner of the AAU James E. Sullivan Award.”
Visit for more information about the AAU Sullivan Award.
The AAU James E. Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 to the most outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. Representatives from the AAU created the AAU Sullivan Award with the intent to recognize amateur contributions and achievements from non-professional athletes across the country. World renowned golfer Robert “Bobby” Jones received the inaugural award and Anne Curtis became the first female to accept the award in 1944. Other notable athletes to win the award include famed Olympians Mark Spitz (1971), Carl Lewis (1981), Jackie Joyner-Kersee (1986) and Michael Phelps (2003). Former UCLA basketball star Bill Walton (1973) and University of Tennessee quarterback Peyton Manning (1997) have also earned the prestigious honor.

Share this post


Follow us

Be sure to tag your posts with hashtag #AAUSullivanAward
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter (@TheRealAAU)
Show us some love on Instagram (@AAUSports)
Check out our videos on YouTube

Get in touch

The Award

Known as the "Oscar" of sports awards and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union, and pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. Based on the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism, the AAU Sullivan Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishments and honors those who have shown strong moral character.


The AAU was founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in amateur sports. During its early years, the AAU served as a leader in international sport representing the U.S. in the international sports federations. The AAU worked closely with the Olympic movement to prepare athletes for the Olympic games. After the Amateur Sports Act of 1978, the AAU has focused its efforts into providing sports programs for all participants of all ages beginning at the grass roots level. The philosophy of "Sports for All, Forever," is shared by over 700,000 participants and over 150,000 volunteers.
View Our Mission Statement