J.J. Redick, 76th Annual AAU Sullivan Award Winner

Sport: Basketball

Hometown: Cookeville, TN

Biography: Duke star J.J. Redick won the AAU Sullivan Award becoming the first men's basketball player since Bill Walton in 1973 to be honored as the nation's top amateur athlete.

In the 2004–05 season, Redick led Duke in scoring with 21.8 points per game. He won the ACC Player of the Year award, and the Adolph F. Rupp Trophy for national player of the year.[4] Redick's victory in the Rupp voting spoiled the consensus for Utah's Andrew Bogut, who won every other major player of the year award. In 2006, after facing close competition all year from Gonzaga player Adam Morrison, Redick won the major player of the year awards.

Redick entered his final post-season with a chance to go down as the NCAA's all-time leading free-throw shooter.

Redick attended Cave Spring High School in Roanoke, Virginia. He finished his prep career as Virginia's all-time AAA leading scorer with 2,215 career points, and shot better than 44 percent from the 3-point arc during his career. He also led his team to the 2002 AAA State Championship with 43 points in the championship game. Additionally, he won the 2002 McDonald's All-American Three-Point Contest, along with the 2002 McDonald's All-American Game MVP award. Redick scored 26 points in the game.

Redick set the record for the most consecutive free throws made in the ACC with 54 This record began on March 20, 2003 and ended on January 15, 2004.


Share this post