Past Winners

Lauren Carlini, 87th Annual AAU Sullivan Award Winner

Lauren Carlini, 87th Annual AAU Sullivan Award Winner

Sport: Volleyball

Hometown: Aurora, Illinois

Biography: Carlini is the first volleyball player to win the AAU Sullivan Award.

Lauren Carlini is the first four-time All-American in the history of Wisconsin Volleyball. A member of the bronze medal-winning U.S. National Team at the 2016 Pan American Cup, Carlini ranks first at Wisconsin with 74 career double-doubles and second in career assists. She is a 2016 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) First Team All-American, a four-time All-Big Ten selection and CoSIDA Academic All-District.

In her career for the Badgers, Carlini earned nine all-tournament honors during her career and was an 11-time Big Ten Setter of the Week. A standout in the classroom, Carlini was a four-time Academic All-Big Ten selection and earned Academic All-America honors in 2016.


Share this post

Follow us

Be sure to tag your posts with hashtag #AAUSullivanAward
Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter (@TheRealAAU)
Show us some love on Instagram (@AAUSports)
Check out our videos on YouTube

Get in touch

The Award

Known as the "Oscar" of sports awards and older than The Heisman, the AAU Sullivan Award honors the outstanding amateur athlete in the United States. It has been presented annually by the AAU since 1930 as a salute to founder and past president of the Amateur Athletic Union, and pioneer in amateur sports, James E. Sullivan. Based on the qualities of leadership, character, sportsmanship, and the ideals of amateurism, the AAU Sullivan Award goes far beyond athletic accomplishments and honors those who have shown strong moral character.


The AAU was founded in 1888 to establish standards and uniformity in amateur sports. During its early years, the AAU served as a leader in international sport representing the U.S. in the international sports federations. The AAU worked closely with the Olympic movement to prepare athletes for the Olympic games. After the Amateur Sports Act of 1978, the AAU has focused its efforts into providing sports programs for all participants of all ages beginning at the grass roots level. The philosophy of "Sports for All, Forever," is shared by over 700,000 participants and over 150,000 volunteers.
View Our Mission Statement